Our Team 

Dean T. Johnson

President & Founder, The Sandy Johnson Foundation

Dean T. Johnson began the efforts of promoting safe roadways in the fall of 2002, soon after the unnecessary deaths of his wife and mother-in-law at an intersection once ranked the eighth most dangerous intersection in the State of Ohio.


Mr. Johnson has made presentations to individuals and groups that include teens, highway officials, and the general public in order to promote a greater understanding of the primary cause of most vehicle crashes, Driver Conditioning. Through his efforts, a deeper understanding of this naturally occurring phenomenon has led to the modification of some highway locations resulting in a reduced crash rate at those locations.

Bryan K. Delaney

Board Chair, The Sandy Johnson Foundation

Bryan Delaney is a devoted transportation safety advocate and innovative strategic communicator who utilizes his passion for multimedia and communications to make a difference. Delaney is a graduate of Ithaca College with a B.S. in Communication Management and Design.


Delaney has collaborated with the nation’s leading health and safety organizations to create innovative national advocacy programming and communication initiatives. In 2015, Delaney was selected as the SADD National Student of the Year and served as the organization’s spokesperson in the national media. Delaney served as a Communications and Marketing Assistant for the National Organizations For Youth Safety and Director of Outreach for the In One Instant Teen Safe Driving Program. Recently, Bryan worked on communications and advocacy efforts with the Safety Advocacy Division at the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) and the Office of the Secretary of Transportation at the US Department of Transportation in Washington DC.

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 8.19.00 PM.jpg

Annika Sidhu

Board Member, The Sandy Johnson Foundation

Bruce Hamilton is the Director of Safety and Research Programs at the Roadway Safety Foundation (RSF), a non-profit organization located in Washington, DC. Together with its highway safety partners, RSF is committed to achieving a world free of traffic deaths and serious injuries, and focuses its efforts on promoting a safe systems approach that ensures protections for all road users. Prior to joining RSF, Hamilton served as the Manager of Research and Communications with the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, and as a training coordinator with the U.S. Department of State. He has a BA in International Relations from Tufts University, and is working toward a Master of Public Health from the George Washington University.

Marissa Kunerth

Bruce Hamilton is the Managing Director of the Roadway Safety Foundation (RSF). Bruce is responsible for day-to-day oversight of Foundation activities and execution of its grants and cooperative agreements. This includes developing and managing programs that promote safer road design, educating road users, and sharing best practices with transportation officials and community leaders to aid in reducing traffic fatalities through infrastructure enhancements.


Hamilton holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in International Relations from Tufts University and a Master of Public Health degree from the George Washington University's Milken Institute.  He previously worked at the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, the U.S. State Department's Foreign Service Institute, and as a Program Assistant at RSF, during which time he authored the current version of the Roadway Safety Guide.

Board Member, The Sandy Johnson Foundation

Bruce Hamilton

Board Member, The Sandy Johnson Foundation

Marissa Kunerth is a graduate of North Dakota State University and holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Strategic Communication. Her interest and dedication for transportation safety first began as an eighth-grade student where Marissa’s classmate was impacted by a life-changing distracted driving crash.

Marissa quickly acted and combined her passions of communication and transportation safety to be a voice for youth and advocate of change. She has experience serving as a United States Department of Transportation Communications-Marketing Intern, National Traffic Highway Safety Administration Lifesavers Traffic Safety Scholar, National Organizations for Youth Safety Youth Correspondent Advisor and Peer Mentor, and a Youth Service America and State Farm Road Safety Ambassador.

Marissa currently works as a Public Relations and Communications Manager for Family, Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) in Washington, D.C.

Marissa Kunerth

Annika Sidhu is currently pursuing her Masters in Healthcare Administration at Minnesota State University Moorhead. She works full-time for United Health Group in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. A proud Bison, Annika holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Health Communication from North Dakota State University. Annika has a deep passion for the health and safety of others in her community. She was a 2018 & 2019 Traffic Safety Scholar Scholarship recipient for the Lifesavers Conference. During college, she served as a Youth Media Correspondent Advisor, a Tire Safety Ambassador, and guest speaker at the 2018 National Coalition meeting all through the National Organizations for Youth Safety. As a grateful survivor of a car crash, in January of  2018, this passion for safety has only grown stronger.


In her free time, Annika enjoys serving others in her community, traveling the world and golfing. 

Addison Dlott

Board Member, The Sandy Johnson Foundation

Addison Dlott is a visual storyteller who has a longstanding passion for the marriage of service and media and specializes in non-fiction media. Dlott is a graduate of Ithaca College with a B.A. in Documentary Studies and Production.

Her work spans a spectrum of media, educational and non-profit organizations including the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, WSKG Public Media, CNN Newsource, CNN’s Anderson Cooper 360, Lady Gaga’s Born This Way Foundation and the National Organizations for Youth Safety. She currently serves as a Corporate Communications intern for PBS and will begin her Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship in Malaysia in January 2020.